2024 Missouri Oral Health Policy Conference -
Capturing the Future

Thursday, March 7 - Friday, March 8, 2024

Conference registration includes 2024 Individual MCOH Membership.

8 Dental CEUs available for participation in both days of the conference.
MCOH is an approved continuing educator by the Missouri Dental Board. 

Working with Legislators - Advancing Oral Health Policy Pre-Conference Webinar

Thursday, March 7, 2024

8:00 AM Oral Health Legislative Awareness Event - Capitol Building - 3rd floor, Senate alcove (optional)

10:30 AM Welcome & The Dynamics of HRSA Oral Health - Dr. Adam Barefoot, DMD, MPH, Chief Dental Officer, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)


12:30 PM The Joys of Combating Mis-Information - Dr. Johnny Johnson, DMD, MS, President, American Fluoridation SocietyRoger Sullivan, MO Oral Health Advocate & Water OperatorModerated by Julie Boeckman, DHSS Office of Dental Health. Sponsored by DHSS Office of Dental Health.

2:00 PM Here and Now in Dental Economy and Access - Dr. Kamyar Nasseh, PhD., Health Economist, American Dental Association Health Policy Institute

3:20 PM Innovation in Dental Care Access for People with Intellectual & Developmental Disabilities
Dr. Nathan Suter, DDS, Chief Innovation Officer, Enable Dental

Oral Health Champion Awards

Networking Mixer - top floor, next to Sapphires

Friday, March 8, 2024

6:30 AM - Breakfast & Networking Discussion Tables - various oral health topics - join any time & feel free to rotate between tables
Discussion Topics: Oral Health Access for People with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities; Preventive Interventions; Community Water Fluoridation; Dental Sealants; Oral Health and Primary Care Integration; Dental Health Equity; Oral Health Advocacy; Maternal and Child Oral Health; Seniors and Oral Health; Others TBD.

7:45 AM Missouri Progress in Dental Sealants -  Jill Pyle, RDH, BS, MSEd, Missouri Southern State University; Kim Polk, RDH, M. Ed., and Lyndsie Thurnau, RDH, BSDH, M.Ed., St. Louis Community College; Meghan Wendland, DDS, MPH, University of Missouri - Kansas City; Shannon Covington, RDH, Lincoln County Health Department; Rachel Beasley, EFDA-CDA, Jefferson County Health Deptartment
Moderated by Julie Boeckman, DHSS Office of Dental Health. Sponsored by DHSS Office of Dental Health.

9:40 AM Dawning New Age of Dental Medicaid - Opening comments: Jessica Dresner, Deputy Director, MO HealthNet;  Jessica Emmerich, Dental Medicaid Facilitator, MCOH;   Amanda Fahrendorf, Education and Collaboration Manager, Department of Social Services;  Halie Payne, Professional Affairs Director, Missouri Dental Association;  Dr. Kirk Quigless, DDS, Brentwood Family Dental;  Rebecca Scheuler, High 5 Communications

11:25 AM The Office of Dental Health: Updates, Initiatives and Action - Dr. Jacqueline Miller, DDS, MS, MPH, Missouri Dental DirectorDHSS Office of Dental Health, Dr. Drue Barton, DMD, MBA, Associate Dental Director, DHSS Office of Dental Health

Lunch and close

Thank You Video

Thank you 2024 conference sponsors!
Our mission work would be impossible without your support!

DHSS - Office of Dental Health

Missouri Foundation for Health

Health Forward Foundation

Delta Dental of Missouri

Big Smiles Missouri


Missouri Dental Association

Missouri Primary Care Association

A.T.Still University Missouri School of Dentistry and Oral Health

Kansas City University

Children's Smile Center


Missouri Academy of Pediatric Dentistry

University of Missouri Kansas City School of Dentistry

Missouri Dental Hygienists' Association 

Thank you to our Exhibitors!

Missouri Primary Care Association

DHSS Office of Dental Health

Home State Health

Kansas City University - College of Dental Medicine



Missouri Department of Mental Health: Division of Developmental Disabilities and Division of Behavior Health

Midwest Special Needs Trust

Rural Parish Clinic of the Archdiocese of St. Louis

Thank you to those contributing to the conference bags!

Midwest Special Needs Trust



Healthy Blue

Missouri Department of Mental Health

Family and Community Trust (FACT)

Missouri Primary Care Association

Kansas City University - College of Dental Medicine

Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services Office of Dental Health

Delta Dental

A.T. Still University - Missouri School of Dentistry & Oral Health

Thank you for contributing to the prize drawing!


Midwest Special Needs Trust

Thank you to the Conference Committee!
Dr. Mack Taylor (Committee Chair); Julie Boeckman; Dr. John Dane; Gwen Sullentrup; Jessica Gibala; Karen Dent; Dr. Megan Krohn; Dr. Michael McCunniff; Olayinka Adekugbe; Patricia Pou; Rachel Bangert, BSN, RN; Tiffany Grant; Gary Harbison; Jessica Emmerich; Ashley Herrman; Melissa Kleffner-Wansing; Sarah Dirksen